Asian Style Mackerel

2017-08-15-16-19-07I wasn’t sure if I liked mackerel, but I knew that for such a cheap ingredient, it was absolutely teaming with all the things I needed to eat more of, particularly EHA and DHA, vital for supporting brain function. I decided to marinade it in quite a strong sauce just in case, and I was amazed with how tasty it was! So punchy and rich, I am pleased I only had one fillet as two may have been a bit too much for me. I kept the dish light by just serving kale dressed in extra virgin olive oil on the side, so this meal is really good for a 5:2 fast day as it is packed full of nutrients but quite low on calories. If you want to use it as part of a bigger meal, then I recommend adding in some roasted butternut squash. My other half is not on my health regime (although he does have to put up with shots of apple cider vinegar pre dinner) so I served his with some jasmine rice.

This meal is not FODMAP friendly because of the honey, but you could switch this out for an alternative you are comfortable with, such as maple syrup or coconut sugar.

Serves 2 and takes 15 minutes plus marinating/soaking time

Ingredients

  • 2 fillets of mackerel, wild caught, sustainably sourced
  • 2 tbsp. tamari
  • 1 tbsp. honey
  • 1 tbsp. ginger, finely grated or chopped
  • 1 lime, juice
  • 1 handful cashews, soaked in water for a few hours
  • 1 bunch of kale, destemmed
  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • Salt and pepper

Method

Mix together the tamari, honey, ginger and lime. Place the mackerel in a shallow dish and pour over the marinade to coat. Cover and set aside for 20 minutes.

Boil the kettle and heat the grill.
Put the mackerel skin side up under the grill. Cook for around 5 minutes this side until the skin is crispy and slightly charred looking. Flip over for 1 minute to finish off the other side.

Meanwhile, put the remaining marinade into a mini sauce pan and bring to the boil. Add the Kale to a larger sauce pan and pour over the boiling water, adding salt to season. Cook both for between 3-5 minutes until the kale is tender and the sauce is cooked through.

Serve with the Mackerel laid over the bed of kale, drizzle the sauce over the top and sprinkle with the soaked cashews.

2017-08-15-16-20-52

Leave a Reply

