Chicken Bone Broth

2017-07-23-15-55-16

Bone broth is my saviour on fast days. It is a nutritional powerhouse and keeps those hunger cravings at bay. Intermittent fasting has many proven health benefits, but the main reason I do it is to give my gut a break from the continual task of digesting food, giving it time to do a clean-up before the onslaught starts again. Intermittent fasting is also said to send your cells into repair mode instead of build mode. These little cells go and efficiently fix as much as they can in the body, rather than just disposing of any damaged cells and making new ones. It is said that this can reduce the risk of unstable mutations in the body. To start with for fast days I have used the 8:16 method while my gut heals and my microbiome improves. Now that I have rested my gut for over 3 weeks, I can start including the 5:2 method more regularly, and really giving my body the rest it needs.

I don’t just have bone broth on fast days. I put it into my stews, I use it for sauces, and basically I use it to flavour anything I possibly can. I can cook a roast every Sunday and the broth will be gone before the next roast comes around!

I use my medium sized slow cooker for this, it fits a whole chicken carcass in easily, with all the odds and ends thrown in for extra goodness. This is best made alongside or straight after a Sunday roast, where all the vegetable cooking water and scraps can be added as you go for extra nutrients. I make a generous batch and then

This takes 8-24 hours depending on how long you can wait! It only needs 5 minutes prep time and makes around 1.5 litres of broth

Ingredients

  • 1 chicken carcass
  • 5 peppercorns
  • 2 litres vegetable cooking juices or water, to cover
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 2 tbsp dried herbs or 1 bunch fresh herbs such as thyme, oregano, rosemary
  • Any leftover veg that is not going to be used otherwise.

Method

Add all of the ingredients and anything else you fancy into a slow cooker. Cook on medium for 8/24 hours. The longer you cook this, the more nutrients are drawn from the bones.

Strain the broth through a sieve and decant the broth into containers for storage. You can keep it in the fridge for a week, or freeze for a month.

For a more concentrated broth, almost like a stock cube, strain the bone broth into a saucepan after you have finished the slow cooker stage. Reduce down over a medium heat until it has halved in quantity. Pour this into ice cube trays and freeze. Add this to any sauce or stew for an extra punch of flavour and nutrients. Delicious!

Leave a Reply

